At Youth Works Hub, we went through this scholarship line by line so you know exactly who it is for, what it pays, what it does not, and how to apply before the extended 15 September 2026 deadline. The Scotland Pakistan Scholarships for Young Women and Girls is a Scottish Government scheme, administered in Pakistan by the British Council, that funds both undergraduate and postgraduate study for Pakistani women at HEC-recognised universities across the country. It is one scholarship with two study levels, and this guide covers every eligible field, every cost that is covered, the documents you will be asked for, and the eligibility fine print that decides who actually gets through.

Who Funds It and Why It Exists

๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ณ๓ ฃ๓ ด๓ ฟ The scholarship is funded by the Scottish Government, which sets it up specifically to make higher education more accessible to women and to help them achieve their potential and ambition.

๐Ÿค It is administered in Pakistan by the British Council, which runs the scheme, coordinates with selected scholars and universities, and works either directly or through nominated university focal persons.

๐Ÿ“ˆ It sits within a long-running Scotland-Pakistan education partnership that, according to Youth Works Hub's review of the programme's background, has supported more than 25,000 students since 2013, which is part of why the scheme is well established and widely recognised inside Pakistan.

๐ŸŒ There is a deliberate inclusion focus: young women with disabilities, from rural areas, and/or from minority groups are explicitly encouraged to apply.

One Scholarship, Two Study Levels

The scheme is open to candidates pursuing either of two routes, and you apply to the one that matches your studies:

๐ŸŽ“ An undergraduate route for a four-year bachelor's degree at any HEC-recognised university across Pakistan.

๐Ÿ“˜ A postgraduate route for a master's or MPhil degree lasting a maximum of two years at any HEC-recognised university across Pakistan.

Each level has its own application form (linked at the end), so it matters that you pick the correct one for your degree.

The Eligible Subject Areas

The scholarship only covers a four-year bachelor's or a two-year master's in one of the following subject areas, so your programme must fall inside this list:

๐Ÿ“š Education

โšก Sustainable Energy

๐ŸŒพ Food Security and Agriculture

๐Ÿฉบ Health Sciences

๐Ÿ”ฌ STEM

๐ŸŒ Climate

A nuance worth knowing from our review of the scheme: at master's level, the Health Sciences area is understood to exclude Medical Sciences, so confirm your specific programme fits before applying.

What the Award Actually Covers

The award facilitates successful scholars with the following, and it is worth being precise about each line so you know what to plan for:

๐Ÿ’ถ Tuition fees for courses in the eligible fields.

๐Ÿ  University hostel costs, where applicable.

๐ŸšŒ Travel to and from home to university twice a year, for students staying in on-campus hostels.

๐Ÿ”ฌ Funds for research work to access quality labs, equipment and tools within the chosen course of study, for master's students only.

An Honest Note on What Is Not Spelled Out

๐Ÿ’ก The scheme is described as making higher education accessible, but based on Youth Works Hub's review, the official materials list only the four items above (tuition, hostel where applicable, twice-yearly travel for hostel residents, and research funds for master's students). A separate cash living stipend or monthly allowance is not stated in the official coverage, so you should not assume day-to-day living costs beyond those items are covered. Always confirm the current terms on the official page before you commit.

Who Can Apply

These scholarships are open to female applicants only. In addition, applicants must:

๐Ÿ‘ฉ Be Pakistani nationals currently residing in Pakistan.

๐ŸŽ“ Be pursuing a two-year master's degree or a four-year bachelor's degree in one of the listed subject areas.

๐Ÿ“„ Hold a confirmed admission offer from an HEC-recognised university in Pakistan.

Two further points from our review: for the undergraduate route, guidance indicates applicants should not have been out of school for more than one year, and no specific upper age limit is stated in the available information. The number of scholarships available and the exact selection or results dates are also not published, so treat those as to-be-confirmed rather than assuming a figure.

The Documents You Should Be Ready to Provide

While the exact checklist can vary by level, our review of the scheme indicates applicants are typically asked for:

๐Ÿ—‚๏ธ The degree-specific application form (bachelor's or master's).

๐Ÿชช CNIC or Form-B, for both the applicant and a guardian.

๐Ÿ’ผ Proof of family finances, such as a salary certificate, pension document or other employment/income evidence.

๐Ÿ“‘ Your most recent education certificate or results/transcript.

๐Ÿซ The confirmed admission letter from an HEC-recognised university.

๐Ÿ’ณ The tuition fee schedule (and hostel fee details, if hostel costs apply to you).

โ™ฟ A disability certificate, if applicable.

For the full and current requirements, the scheme also points applicants to a dedicated document titled "Scotland Pakistan Scholarship General FAQs 2026."

How to Apply

๐Ÿ“ Choose the correct application form for your level (bachelor's or master's/MPhil), complete all required fields accurately, and attach the supporting documents above. Because the two levels use two different forms, applying through the wrong one can cost you, so double-check before you submit.

Frequently Asked Questions

โ“ Who is eligible for this scholarship?

Only female Pakistani nationals currently residing in Pakistan, who are pursuing a four-year bachelor's or a two-year master's/MPhil in an eligible subject area and hold a confirmed admission offer from an HEC-recognised university.

โ“ Which subjects are covered?

Education, Sustainable Energy, Food Security and Agriculture, Health Sciences, STEM, and Climate. At master's level, Health Sciences is understood to exclude Medical Sciences.

โ“ What costs does it cover?

Tuition fees, university hostel costs where applicable, travel home to university twice a year for on-campus hostel residents, and research funds for master's students. A separate cash living stipend is not stated in the official coverage.

โ“ Is it for undergraduate or postgraduate study?

Both, through two separate routes and two separate forms: a four-year bachelor's, or a master's/MPhil of up to two years.

โ“ Are there priority groups?

Yes. Young women with disabilities, from rural areas, and/or from minority groups are especially encouraged to apply.

โ“ What documents will I need?

Typically the degree-specific form, CNIC/Form-B for you and a guardian, proof of family income, your latest education results, your HEC university admission letter, the tuition fee schedule (plus hostel details if relevant), and a disability certificate if applicable. Check the official "General FAQs 2026" document for the definitive list.

โ“ Has the deadline changed?

Yes, it has been extended to 15 September 2026.

Deadline

โณ 15 September 2026

Links

๐Ÿ”— Bachelor's application form: https://www.research.net/r/WZQB3D5

๐Ÿ”— Master's/MPhil application form: https://www.research.net/r/ZC8YPKJ

๐Ÿ”— Official page: https://www.britishcouncil.pk/scotland-pakistan-scholarships-young-women-and-girls

You can find more scholarships and funded study opportunities, explained clearly and in plain language, on Youth Works Hub.

โš ๏ธ Important Notice

Youth Works Hub is not the organiser, partner, or representative of the listed projects. This listing is shared for information only, based on details from the source. Deadlines, eligible countries, dates, and other details may change or be withdrawn at any time, and all funding, reimbursements, and allowances are set by the project coordinator or National Agency. Applications go directly to the coordinator or hosting organisation through the official link. Listings may include third-party links (ESC Portal, infopacks, forms) that Youth Works Hub does not control. Always verify the details on the official project page before applying